“A conversation with the mirror in my death-bed-side”

Image

“I always believed that there were two kinds of men in this world, men who go to their deaths screaming and men who go to their deaths in silence”

 

Today I closed my eyes and started thinking. May be it was the embrace of the cool night breeze or maybe it was just the slumber taking over my eyelids, which was doing the thinking but suddenly a question propped in my mind. Who am I? And how will I be when facing my deathbed? Will I go in silence accepting my obvious fate or will I go on screaming trying foolishly to scare death away by my petty screams! I don’t know.

The movement of thoughts in an inquisitive mind is just like a “cat in a hot tin roof”; it can never stay still however hard you try. So is the rule, and accordingly my mind behaved. The next thought flowing through the labyrinthine which caught my attention was the question that what decides a man’s behavior near death. Is it their in-built chemical composition of the brain or is it the way they had lived their life. May be both. No matter.

The ‘scared’ die screaming. They are people who hate the unknown and are afraid of it. They are the people who have a lot of unfulfilled desires. The people who die silent are the ones with a heart which is saturated from any kind of adventure, it is not that they don’t have desires, desires which they would have fulfilled if they had not died, they have them, and it is just that they had lost all the hopes of ever fulfilling them long ago.

There is a third kind of people. People who die smiling. They are the people who have a satisfied existence. If one of them dies tomorrow, he/she will still be smiling because before the sun sets each evening they end their day’s errands with a sense of satisfaction because whatever they did made them happy.

I want to be one of them. Why? Because just thinking about it, just thinking about being happy each and every moment I live makes the moment special let alone living such a life.

 

Shekhar Suman©

Leave a Reply

